You are here: Home Bernstein Seminar 2021 Bernstein-CorTec Award 2021 | …

Banner Bernstein Seminar

Bernstein-CorTec Award 2021 | Jeanine Laturner: Ocular dominance plasticity in a thalamo-cortical recurrent network model

Special Bernstein Seminar which features the presentation of the the Bernstein-CorTec Awardee MSc Jeanine Laturner on February 9h at 5 pm (CET).
When Nov 09, 2021
from 05:00 PM to 06:00 PM
Where Zoom Meeting. Meeting ID and password will be sent with e-mail invitation. You can also ask Fiona Siegfried for Meeting ID and password.
Contact Name
Contact Phone 0761 203 9549
Add event to calendar vCal

In this video, the awardee introduces herself



 Traditionally, the visual cortex was viewed as the first stage where retinal input converges and therefore experience-dependent plasticity was believed to be exclusively cortical. However, recent studies show that retinal ganglion cells already converge at the level of the dorsal lateral geniculate nucleus (dLGN), a part of the thalamus. Binocular responsiveness of thalamic neurons suggests ocular dominance plasticity not only in cortex but also within dLGN or thalamo-cortical projections.

 Recent studies show that when closing one eye for a certain amount of time thalamic relay cells respond stronger to input from the open eye after monocular deprivation. This is called an ocular dominance shift and cannot be explained by cortical feedback only. Ocular dominance plasticity is likely to underly Hebbian and homeostatic mechanisms. In this talk I will present different plasticity rules based on homeostatic principles in a thalamic recurrent network model. We will explore which prerequisites are crucial to observe an ocular dominance shift after monocular deprivation as has been observed in experiments.

More about the BernsteinCorTec Award 2021

Supported by

NeurexNeurex | InterNeuronEU Development FundEU Interreg


All upcoming scientific events

Back to overview

All Bernstein Seminars

2024 |  202320222021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Filed under: